Skip to content ↓

Early Years Foundation Stage

All children aged 2-5 are placed in the Early Years Foundation Stage with differentiated environment, provision and learning styles for pupils of all needs and abilities.

The EYFS curriculum is a developmental curriculum, which plays a diagnostic role in establishing which of the pathways the child begins.

There are three key areas at the core of our EYFS curriculum.

  • Communication & Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development

The four specific areas of learning are planned within the themes and activities children access.

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

RE is incorporated into the area of Understanding the World through the aspect of People and Communities and is also delivered through assemblies.

We recognise however, that our pupils have their own individual learning needs and have access to a holistic curriculum which endeavours to meet their full potential academically, socially, physically and emotionally. This may include accessing aspects of our developmental (rebound, multi-sensory learning or physical development activities) or additional curriculums (a time specific intervention to enhance learning e.g. sensory diets).